Welcome World!

On this Veteran’s Day, I say “Thank You” and ask myself “Could I do it?”

As I say a very heartfelt THANK YOU to all Veterans who have or are serving, I ask myself: Could I do it?

This morning I posted in the Wordless Wednesday group on ActiveRain but felt that was not enough.  I still had a question.

Would I be able to give up my creature comforts and go to who knows where?   Could I watch as my friends, peers and family members went on with their lives. . . finishing their education; beginning their careers; starting their families?  Would I be able to take orders and follow through, no matter what?

Would I have been able to go forward, knowing that my next step might be the wrong one?  Would I be willing to give up my life to protect my country, my family; my peers?  Could I “press on”  knowing that the odds were not in my favor?

Arlington Cemetary

Could I do it?

When we lived in Northern Virginia and visited every Civil War battlefield in the region,  Our country’s forefathers were heading into battle against fellow countrymen, former friends, and sometimes their own family members. I would stand there asking myself the same question:

Gettysburg

Could I do it?

On September 11, 2001 our country was put to the test.  Many stepped up to the plate and continue to do so. Young men and women enlisted, answering the call to protect and serve their country.

Would I have done it?

I ask myself this often.  I also look out at the generations behind me. .. Generation X and the Millennials or EchoBoomers.  Could they do it?

More importantly, will they be able to do it??  So as you thank those who have served, dig down deep and ask yourself:

Could I do it?

World War II Memorial Veteran's Memorial Arlington Cemetary

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Welcome World!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

